Preschool

The Preschool blog

Quick snapshots of the ​Preschool world are going online every day on the classroom website at slconnor.zohosites.com.

Shanon Connor

Preschool
sconnor@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/sconnor

Heather Motta

Preschool assistant teacher
hmotta@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/hmotta

 

In Preschool...

Children build on the Nursery experience, learning about the world through exploration and play, individually, in small groups, or in full class lessons.

The classroom centers are designed for imaginative play, exploration of simple machines, engineering, blocks, art, writing, sand, and water play.

Students are introduced to phonics through the Telian Method.

The iPad is introduced as a tool to support early acquisition of academic skills.

Students’ document their own emerging literacy by maintaining folders with their own original drawings and teacher-assisted writing.

an overview of Early Childhood at Gordon

Maryanne Pieri
Early Childhood and Lower School director
mpieri@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/mpieri
 
Cheryl Fanti
Early Childhood and Lower School assistant
cfanti@gordonschool.org
 

Bridget Baird
Music
bbaird@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/bbaird

Jacqui Ketner
Science
jketner@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/jketner

Eric Kravitz
Schoolwide math specialist
ekravitz@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/ekravitz

Frances Martindale
Librarian
fmartindale@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/fmartindale

Damon Ray
Physical education
​​​​​​​Seventh grade advisor
dray@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/dray