Kindergarten

Julie Parsons

Kindergarten
jparsons@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/jparsons

Santana Sluss

Kindergarten
ssluss@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/ssluss

In Kindergarten...

This full-day program builds on students’ emerging skills in reading, writing and math.

Children write each day, gradually incorporating proper letter formation and accurate spelling into their journal entries.

Teachers use the Telian Method, which enables children to take the next steps toward becoming confident and capable readers.

The math curriculum, Math in Focus, emphasizes problem solving and introduces basic mathematical concepts through the use of manipulatives and other hands-on activities.

Science is taught through an inquiry-based curriculum and introduces students to scientific theory.

Formal Spanish instruction begins, introducing basic words and phrases as well as culture and geography.

The Pathways Program begins in Kindergarten

an overview of Early Childhood at Gordon

Maryanne Pieri
Early Childhood and Lower School director
mpieri@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/mpieri
 
Cheryl Fanti
Early Childhood and Lower School assistant
cfanti@gordonschool.org
 

Bridget Baird
Music
bbaird@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/bbaird

Aleida Benitez
Spanish
abenitez@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/abenitez

Andrea Del Sesto
Literacy specialist
adelsesto@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/adelsesto

Erica Tonsgard
Visual art
etonsgard@gordonschool.org

Jacqui Ketner
Science
jketner@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/jketner

Eric Kravitz
Schoolwide math specialist
ekravitz@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/ekravitz

Frances Martindale
Librarian
fmartindale@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/fmartindale

Damon Ray
Physical education
Seventh grade advisor
dray@gordonschool.org
www.gordonschool.org/dray