Education with impactNursery through eighth grade
Gordon School
ApplyGiveBlog
News blog
News blog
A look at day-to-day life in the school, and the ways Gordon touches the community that surrounds it.
Category

Many ways to get to five

Deep counting, from the concrete to the abstract, in Kindergarten
Tuesday, September 19, 2017
read more

Overnight success

Middle School heads to the woods for teambuilding, outdoor leadership
Thursday, September 14, 2017
read more

Sixth grade mountaineers

Building virtual peaks, then climbing real ones
Tuesday, September 12, 2017
read more

Poetry in motion

Lessons in verse mobilized schoolwide and statewide
Sunday, September 10, 2017

read more

Working towards spring

Countering the culture of instant gratification, in third grade
Thursday, September 7, 2017
read more

Happy new year

First day of school photos
Wednesday, September 6, 2017
read more

A help-a-thon for Houston

Fourth graders lead, and serve, their communities
Wednesday, September 6, 2017
read more

#gordonfirstday

Faculty today, students next week
Wednesday, August 30, 2017
read more

Our call to action

Affirming young people’s curiosity, and their convictions
Wednesday, August 30, 2017
read more

Eclipse 2017

The view from Maxfield Avenue
Monday, August 21, 2017
read more

New for September 2017

Expanded curriculum, new academic labs
Saturday, August 12, 2017
read more

Artists everywhere

Students find new venues off campus
Thursday, August 3, 2017
read more

Gordon at the ALA conference

Finding a place for Gordon students at American Librarian Association’s annual meeting
Wednesday, July 5, 2017
read more

Sailing and Shakespeare

Finding new ways to work together at Gordon’s summer camps
Sunday, June 25, 2017
read more

Nikki Grimes arrives in November

Award-winning poet and author is eleventh Karla Harry Visiting Author
Friday, June 16, 2017
read more

Parents of Students of Color family gathering

New and current families gather to celebrate the end of the year
Monday, June 12, 2017
read more

Congratulations to the class of 2017

Gordon’s eighth graders become alumni
Thursday, June 8, 2017
read more

Young alumnae on the lacrosse fields

Gordon alumnae dominate Division I, Division II tournaments
Monday, June 5, 2017
read more

Honoring each eighth grader

Two traditions: one public, one less so
Monday, June 5, 2017
read more

Field Day 2017

Gordon’s oldest tradition gets better every year
Friday, June 2, 2017
read more
search login